Captivating Capitol

After a week of monkey issues and plumbing issues I decided to give myself a treat at the Capitol Piazza.

Some of you may recall the run down Capitol Theatre, refurbished in the 2000s but forgotten the glory of its heydays when Singapore was a less developed country and the most frequently talked about dating venue of your parents is Polar Cafe at Capitol.

Then I think my dad brought my brothers and I to watch the Blue Lagoon starring Brooke Shields and a blond boy. Was it RA?

image

Anyway I was at SMU or the City Hall consecutively for 3 days and decided to try out the restaurants.

image

Palette is like a Marche style eatery although it looks like a high class food court, it’s not. You have someone bringing you to your table while you make selections with your tablet. M opined wittily that this means you have service charge added to your bill. She’s right. 17% extra although if you used Citibank there’s a 5% discount .

We unanimously opted for the beef brisket soup with egg noodles. We later had tea and talked till 2pm, breaking up only because M had an appointment. So quiet, and comfortable is the ambience that you get this luxe feel of being in a hotel setting without paying more than Raffles City next door. (Both operated by Capitaland). Our bill for the beef brisket and a glass of carrot juice was $14 each. Not pricier than Raffles City but minus the lunchtime crowd because it’s undiscovered secret even though it’s just across the City Hall station. Or because we are a tad slower than the June crowd.

Today I was down at City Hall again and popped over to try the duck noodles at Four Seasons as the long queues in London was still fresh in my mind. Surely the Sunday Times food columnist was too harsh when s/he implied that the other new contender was better. Despite my friend SC’s confirmation, I had to try the duck for myself. Because the crowd is 20% of capacity, service is good and prompt. Weekends may be different as I overheard the maitre’dere turn away reservations as early as Tuesday booking.

Price wise, similar to London. My bill was $22. 15% off if you use UOB Credit Card. Food wise, I had a egg noodle with 2 meat combination. The roast pork was very good, the roast duck which was why I came was good but underwhelming. I can get half a roast duck in Chinatown 10 mins away for $16. Well you pay for ambience. In London you pay for food and the opportunity to rub shoulders with your fellow Chinese. Here no home sick feeling so I don’t pay for that. Plus options for this quality of duck is abundant. I think it’s the raw materials.

image

image

image

Catch a performance of Singapura the musical at the Capitol Theatre on ground level.

The entire place smells like walking into a spa. Eden must have smelt like this. Some ginger lemon grass scent that’s relaxing and puts you in a shopping mood. I can stay here whole day with the free WiFi but can’t find a place to sit. Maybe I’ll hide in the luxurious hotel looking toilet.

image

Just joking. I’ve to go home and catch monkeys or at least make sure they are not eating my fake apples from Chelsea Flower Show.

image

Natural sunlight streaming in

image

image

Spaghetti (Japanese style) set at Dazzling Cafe or Japanese toast after you digested the spaghetti.

Although there are only 6 diners seated at 1230pm. Only 4 have been served while the young couple complained about the wait. I’m happily sucking in the ginger lemon grass air to worry about the wait. (When the food came, the young undergraduate-looking couple were busy enjoying the food.)

image

image

image

image

Chicken rice set for $19.33 at 1933 on ground level.
image

Get a succulent plant from Poppy at level 2 for your favourite colleague covering for you before you head back late.

image

image

Getting there:
City Hall MRT station. Get off at St Andrews Cathedral and cross the road.
Places of interest in the area include National Gallery, Peranakan Museum and National Museum as well as the National Library.

Leave a Reply

