Walk in the park 2 – Fort Canning Park via former River Valley Swimming Pool

Plein Air by Delia Prvacki

There are 4 entrances into Fort Canning Park. Through National Museum, SMU, old Police Station, or old River Valley Swimming Pool.  I can remember having swimming lessons every Sunday with my brother there.  I’m so pleased that they have decided to keep the old structure – the bathing toilets.

Converted into 2 art galleries for exhibition. There’s a ceramic exhibition as well.

I’m wondering where my favourite ring trees have been moved?  I hope NParks have moved them to GBay?  In their place is massive  LTA construction – possibly the new MRT site?

The landscaping is excellently done.  Minimalist. I like how russelia is used, cascading bells of white and red, like weeping willows against the black and white buildings.

Result: Space in the midst of busy District 9.

Leave a Reply

