Sun Bird

IMG_0310

When we moved in, our very friendly next-door neighbours told us that sunbirds would come into their balcony.  Especially after the heliconias have been sprayed, the little feathery friends would take a bath sliding on the long leaves.    Soon after, these little feathery olive-backed friends came to visit in my my verandah. The males have a metallic blue vest. They took to the bourgainvilla and in the morning perch there, watching the morning traffic.  Often we see several chirping away.  Near our village is a bird shop, which sells sunbirds and I hurry past, lest I tarry and encourage them in this cruel act of caging these friends.Sunbird 3

I planted heliconias hoping to attract sunbirds initially, but they seem to like the bourganvillas and the costus woodsonnii. The nectar attracts them and they pierce their little beaks into the tiny flowers coming off the side of the costus. Well, I planted the costus to attract butterflies but that didnt seem to happen. Butterflies seem to be attracted to the bourganvilla plus the coral vine.  The unexpected happens and it works out.   

Speaking of new friends I've found, after my trip to Siberia, I spotted the kingfisher twice, around 10am. Quite a handsome fellow with his turqoise feathers. Sad part was that he ate up my little red fishes. I'd bought 5 red fishes, which multiplied to about 25 fishes within a month. While calculating whom I should bless the little fishes with, and the delight of the children's faces, the kingfisher ate them all. I was in Siberia when L texted me.  He found a feather at the crime site but never saw the kingfisher.  I've not seen him since either.

Leave a Reply

